Northern territory

From Biology-Online Dictionary
Jump to: navigation, search

northern territory

A territory in north central australia, east of the state of queensland. Its capital is darwin. Originally a part of new south wales, it was annexed to south Australia in 1863, entered the commonwealth as part of it in 190l, transferred to the commonwealth in 1911, divided in 1927, but was reestablished in 1931. It was granted self government within the commonwealth of Australia in 1978.