Netherlands antilles

From Biology-Online Dictionary
Jump to: navigation, search

netherlands antilles

A netherlands overseas territory in the lesser antilles in the west indies. It includes the islands of aruba, bonaire, curacao, saba, st. Eustatius, and the southern part of st. Martin. Its capital is willemstad. Its former names are curacao, netherlands west indies, and dutch west indies. Its colonial status was abolished by the netherlands government in 1954 but it is considered an integral part of the dutch realm. There is no positive evidence for the name antilles.