Confused and have questions? We’ve got answers. With Chegg Study, you can get step-by-step solutions to your questions from an expert in the field. If you rather get 1:1 study help, try 30 minutes of free online tutoring with Chegg Tutors.


From Biology-Online Dictionary | Biology-Online Dictionary
Jump to: navigation, search



(virology) A genus of viruses in the taxonomic family Flaviviridae that includes the hepacivirus C (also called hepatitis C virus)


Flaviviridae is a taxonomic family comprised of viruses containing monopartite, linear, single-stranded RNA enveloped with icosahedral, spherical structure (about 40-60 nm in diameter). This family includes four genera: Flavivirus, Hepacivirus, Pegivirus, and Pestivirus.

The hepacivirus has an icosahedral structure with a diameter of around 50nm. The virus enters the host cell by means of clathrin-mediated endocytosis. Within the host cell, the virus replicates through a positive stranded RNA virus replication model. The method of transcription is through positive stranded RNA virus transcription. The virus may be transmitted from one human host to another by sexual, blood, and contact.

The Hepacivirus includes 14 species such as the following: Hepacivirus A (also called canine, non-primate, or equine hepacivirus), Hepacivirus B (previously known as GVB-B), Hepacivirus C (also called hepatitis C virus), Hepacivirus D (formerly Guereza hapacivirus), Hepacivirus E and F (previously known as rodent hepacivirus), Hepacivirus G (formerly known as Norway rat hepacivirus 1), Hepacivirus H (also called Norway rat hepacivirus 2), Hepacivirus I and J (both previously called the Rodent hepacivirus), Hepacivirus K, L and M (both formerly called bat hepacivirus), and Hepacivirus N (previously called bovine hepacivirus).

Scientific classification:

  • Family: Flaviviridae
  • Genus: Hepacivirus

See also: