From Biology-Online Dictionary | Biology-Online Dictionary


noun, plural: euglinids

Any member of Euglenophyta, characterized by having one or two anterior flagella for locomotion and an eyespot at the base of the flagella

(phycology) In old taxonomic classification, a phylum of the Kingdom Protista and comprised of the euglinids

(protistology) In old taxonomic classification, an order of the phylum Mastigophora


The euglinids are species of the Euglenophyta. In the old system of classification, e.g. the five kingdom scheme of classification, the euglinids belong to the Kingdom Protista. Kingdom Protista is comprised of organisms that are animal-like and plant-like. Animal-like single-celled eukaryotes are referred to as protozoans whereas plant-like unicellular or multicellular organisms are the algae. Protista is divided into several phyla. For instance, the animal-like protists are grouped into Phylum Sarcodina, Phylum Mastigophora, Phylum Ciliaphora, and Phylum Sporozoa. Euglinids, if taken as animal-like protists, are classified under Phylum Mastigophora, which are characterized by having flagellar system of locomotion. In other system of classification though the euglinids are taken as plant-like because some of them have chlorophyll pigments that enable them to carry out photosynthesis. In this case, the euglinids would belong to Phylum Euglenophyta of Subkingdom Phycobionta. Other euglenids though are colorless and non-photosynthetic. They feed on other organisms through phagocytosis or by diffusion. Therefore, euglinids are classified as either animal-like or plant-like since they share features of both.

Also called:

  • euglenoid
  • euglenophyte

See also: