Confused and have questions? We’ve got answers. With Chegg Study, you can get step-by-step solutions to your questions from an expert in the field. If you rather get 1:1 study help, try 30 minutes of free online tutoring with Chegg Tutors.


From Biology-Online Dictionary | Biology-Online Dictionary
Jump to: navigation, search



A taxonomic class in the phylum Proteobacteria that includes species such as Nautilia spp., Campylobacter spp., Helicobacter spp., etc.


Proteobacteria is a phylum of the domain Bacteria that includes a great diversity of forms of species. This phylum has six taxonomic classes: (1) Alphaproteobacteria, (2) Betaproteobacteria, (3) Gammaproteobacteria, (4) Deltaproteobacteria, (5) Epsilonproteobacteria, and (6) Zetaproteobacteria.

Epsilonproteobacteria is a taxonomic class of gram-negative species. There are few known genera of this class. Some of the taxonomic orders belonging to this class are as follows:

  • Nautiliales (e.g. Caminibacter hydrogeniphilus, Nautilia lithotrophica, Nautilia profundicola, etc.)
  • Campylobacterales (e.g. Campylobacter spp., Arcobacter spp., Helicobacter spp., etc.)

Few notable species are Wolinella spp. that inhabit the digestive tracts of cattle, Helicobacter spp. that inhabit the stomach and Campylobacter spp. that inhabit the duodenum of certain animals. Some species of Epsilonproteobacteria are found to occur in the deep sea hydrothermal vents and exhibit chemolithotrophy. Other species of this phylum are autotrophic, i.e. using the reverse Krebs cycle to fix carbon dioxide into biomass.1

Scientific classification:

See also:

Mentioned in:

1 Epsilonproteobacteria. Retrieved from [1].