Cell Manipulation Question

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

othergordon11
Garter
Garter

Cell Manipulation Question

Post by othergordon11 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:10 pm

Hi, I am a recent physics graduate and have become very interested in the world of cell biology, mostly the manipulation of cells. I have very little knowledge of biological techniques but I was wondering if anyone could tell me:

What are the best methods for manipulating single cells or small groups of cells? Pipettes/capillaries/needles? I am not thinking of complex methods like optical tweezers, but of simple mechanical/manual methods and what tools might be commonly used.

Thanks.

Vagabond
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by Vagabond » Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:21 pm

there are a lot of ways to minipulate cells perhaps you could narrow your quiestion down a little. Like do you want to enrich a population, transfect a population, purify cells or such. Drug selection can elimintate unwanted cells, Flow cytemetry and isolate and count specific cells. As for single cells one could use patch-clamp methods (though this is usually used for measureing ion channels)
---------------------------------------

You know dog spelled backwards is god.
Coincidence? I think not. . .

othergordon11
Garter
Garter

Post by othergordon11 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:35 pm

I guess I am curious if there is ever any physical hands on cell manipulation, like poking, cutting, or moving individual cells or small groups under a microscope. Are there tiny tools for these type of actions?

From what I have dug up on patch clamping it seems that they are just pipettes drawn to small tips ~(1 micrometer) and they stick this tiny end into the cells and force reactions from them? Is this right?

I apologize for being a bit of a layman, when it comes to this stuff. Thanks alot though

daniel.kurz
Coral
Coral

Post by daniel.kurz » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:14 am