using mRNA to scan DNA libraries

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
labovich
Garter
Garter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:38 pm

using mRNA to scan DNA libraries

Post by labovich » Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:44 pm

hi-
do you know if it's possible to scan a genomic DNA library using mRNA probes?

User avatar
ping
Coral
Coral
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:18 am

Post by ping » Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:55 pm

I don't know for sure,but I think that it is possible.Thus,you could position the introns,I guess.

labovich
Garter
Garter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:38 pm

Post by labovich » Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:31 am

thank you for the reply, Ping.
i'm talking about an unknown gene. i have a protein that i can sequence and according to the amino acid sequence, i can isolate mRNA as a probe. would it be specific enough :?:

User avatar
ping
Coral
Coral
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:18 am

Post by ping » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:28 pm

It depends on the amino acid sequence-actually on how many codons may be used for a certain amino acid.You may have to use some combinations of codons.

labovich
Garter
Garter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:38 pm

Post by labovich » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:36 pm

you right. i guess the longer the better...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests