Mitosis Model

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
fooballer
Garter
Garter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:33 am

Mitosis Model

Post by fooballer » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:32 pm

I am to start a 3D model on mitosis anytime soon, but I'm not too sure about what to do. My first idea was to make a cell out of plastercine and use pipe cleaners for the movement of the chromosomes. However, I think this would be too time-consuming.

I'm all out of ideas, does anybody have an idea to help me start up on?

User avatar
destiny
Coral
Coral
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:51 am

Post by destiny » Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:52 am

Here is a website (hope it will give you some ideas...)

http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/lessons.cfm?DocID=92
Image

=I'm just a kid=

User avatar
sachin
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 1517
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: MUMBAI / INDIA
Contact:

Post by sachin » Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:21 am

I ll wait for some posts, then I would give mine, since I m not expert in engg. so I ll prefer to wait for others...
Senior Education Officer, BNHS, India. www.bnhs.org

Bitter Truth!
Who says reason for world war III will be Petrol?
Reason lies in two words "Me and Mine".

fooballer
Garter
Garter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:33 am

Post by fooballer » Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:13 pm

Thanks for the help.

The link you provided destiny, helps a little bit. However, I forgot to mention that my model must have some sort of movement. From what I read in the link provided, nothing is moving. This helps as I could somehow use strings as pullies to show the movement of chromosomes. Thanks, I will definately consider this as an idea for my model.

Anyone else?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests