DNA - Sticky and blunt ends- Explain

Genetics as it applies to evolution, molecular biology, and medical aspects.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

pyrophoenix
Garter
Garter

DNA - Sticky and blunt ends- Explain

Post by pyrophoenix » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:14 pm

I am a first yr Biotechnology student and I did not understand the meaning of the terms Blunt and sticky ends! I do know that when an endonuclease clevages the DNA opposingly it is blunt and if not opposite it is sticky ..But the problem is that I dont understand what it means!
More over what are all the letters

"A A G C TT " stand for?
How are they helpful.. What is their purpose?
God's Existance can be felt not proven, And Science can prove - not feel!

pyrophoenix
Garter
Garter

reply to my query !

Post by pyrophoenix » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:18 pm

Please if you are kind enough... Please send me an Email regarding the answer!
Thanks a lot!
My id is

[email protected]

G-Do
Garter
Garter

Post by G-Do » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:46 pm

A DNA molecule is a sequence of smaller molecules called nucleotides that have been daisy-chained together, end-to-end. There are four kinds of nucleotides in a DNA molecule: adenine, guanine, cytosine, and thymine. These are abbreviated to A, G, C, and T. So to do an example, a single molecule of DNA could look like:

ACCGATTAGCGAC

- which is an adenine, attached to a cytosine, attached to another cytosine, attached to a guanine, and so on.

In cells, DNA molecules tend to occur as double-stranded dimers. That means that there will be two chains, or strands:

ACCGATTAGCGAC and TGGCTAATCGCTG

- and these two strands will attach to each other longways:

ACCGATTAGCGAC
TGGCTAATCGCTG