WHAT IS THIS??

Animals!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
User avatar
Prionace
Garter
Garter
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Italy

WHAT IS THIS??

Post by Prionace » Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:51 pm

This image come from Mediterranean sea at the depth of about 20 metres.
What is this in your opinion? Tunicata? Ctenofora? :?:


Image

Image

:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
Creator of sharks site: http://www.prionace.it

bffdragonfly
Garter
Garter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:21 pm

Post by bffdragonfly » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:27 pm

those pics. look real cool.

User avatar
mkwaje
Coral
Coral
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:48 am
Location: Philippines

Post by mkwaje » Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:30 pm

looks like tunicate to me...

User avatar
kjle
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:10 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Post by kjle » Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:34 am

looks like an ascidian, don't know marine biology outside of pacific yet...
- disarm you with a smile

Founder of "Photography Club"
Member of "Truth-Seekers" tribe

#1 posts/day total
#8 total post count

User avatar
Beetle
Coral
Coral
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Serbia

Post by Beetle » Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:12 am

It looks like jellyfish to me but I am no expert for marine life.
"In wildness is the preservation of the world" J. Hatfiled

User avatar
geonyzl
Garter
Garter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:10 am
Contact:

Post by geonyzl » Thu Oct 05, 2006 4:02 am

it looks like a member ctenophore
If there's a will, there's a way...:)

User avatar
Dr.Stein
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 3501
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:58 am
Location: 55284 Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Post by Dr.Stein » Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:05 am

Yes, I think it belongs to jellyfish group. It reminds me of Man-of-war Physalia pelagica
Image

User avatar
geonyzl
Garter
Garter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:10 am
Contact:

comb jelly

Post by geonyzl » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:37 am

does it look like a comb jelly?
If there's a will, there's a way...:)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests