28S:18S rRNA ratio

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Nite
Death Adder
Death Adder

28S:18S rRNA ratio

Post by Nite » Thu Jul 27, 2006 10:01 am

The ratio of 28S:18S rRNA in gel electrophoresis of sample containing total RNA is theoretically 2:1 when the sample rRNA integrity is high (ie. the rRNA is intact). What are the reasons behind this observation?

I have googled the thing but I din find any explanation.

cheers

nite
Go as far as you can see, and when you get there you will always be able to see farther.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:45 pm

What do you mean? If the rRNA molecule breaks, more bands will show up on your gel. I don't understand your question..
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

Navin
Coral
Coral

Post by Navin » Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:05 am

i think nite means "why is there twice the amount of 28s as compared to 18s (after running the gel)".
Botany is the study of what? Bottoms!

Nite
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by Nite » Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:11 pm

yes what navin said is almost correct..

wad i mean is..

after we extract out total RNA from a cell sample.. then we PCR the sample.. then we send the sample for gel electrophoresis. Two (or maybe three) bands will be observed. One band will be the 28S rRNA band, the other is 18S rRNA ( and the third one maybe 5S or 5.8S).

On the gel, the putative observation when the total RNA extract is of 'good' quality is that the 28S band will always have twice the intensity of 18S. Why is this so?
Go as far as you can see, and when you get there you will always be able to see farther.

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:55 pm