Plants!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

secret
Garter
Garter

help me out.- assignment on photosynthesis

Post by secret » Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:26 pm

Hi all

I am currently studying at TAFE (collage institute) and was given an assignment relevant to Photosynthesis.

Anyway, I am stuck trying to work out an which I can relate to real life.

Here's the report question:

"I am to undertake an experimental investigation into the cellular process of photosynthesis, then appkly it to an example of photosynthesis in real life situations"

Anybody got any idea as to which would be a good investigation?

Any ideas would be appreciated.
G GggGgGg Unit.

SU_reptile
Coral
Coral

Post by SU_reptile » Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:25 pm

Hmm, you know there are a few experiments you could conduct to demonstrate that photosynthesis really occurs, however I don't know what is the aim of your investigation.

For example you could demonstrate photosynthesis on some water plant such as Elodea sp.. It yealds preety oxygen bubles that are a proof for photosynthesis.
You may also check if photosynthesis occurs by detecting starch grains emerging in leaf after exposition to light. ETC. Give more details about the purpose of your experiment, please.

secret
Garter
Garter

Post by secret » Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:01 pm

Hey, they sound great.

I will supply the information i was given -I have been racking my brains to figure an experiment which will impress the academic stuff.

Assesment criteria is as below:

You will conduct an experiment investigation into the cellular process of photosynthesis, then apply the it to an example of photosynthesis in real life situations.

You will need to design an experiment to investigate one of the factors involved in photosynthesis and carry out the experiment. You will then investigate an aspect of photosynthesis in real life and show how the factor you have investigated in the laboratory could affect this aspect.