Using primers after DNA modification

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

molecular newbie
Garter
Garter

Using primers after DNA modification

Post by molecular newbie » Tue Jun 27, 2006 7:17 pm

Im relatively new to this stuff but ive been doing research for the past month , working with 3 commerical primers and control/experimental DNA samples. I use the methylated specific PCR procedure and then gel electrophorisis for result. MY PROBLEM is that im not get consistent bands and even sometimes getting no bands at all. Does anyone have any suggestions or tips on how i might be mis-using the primers ?
thanx

oppox
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by oppox » Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:48 pm

what differs the primers from eachother and are they complementary to the DNA?
How do u combine the primers?

molecular newbie
Garter
Garter

Post by molecular newbie » Tue Jun 27, 2006 11:21 pm

they are 3 different primers that cleave 3 different genes from the DNA strand. They dont differ much , and they have enough complentary base pairs to cleave that specific gene. They are commercial primers and therfore they are already mixed togther , i just add them before i add my master mix. One problem i think im having is the annealing temp, or maybe they are just old primers, it could be the PCR machine , i just dont know. What do u suggest the correct amount of DNA , Primer, and wat type of TAQ would u suggest i use? im currently using Hot start Polymerase. Im going crazy cause i have a project to finish by the end of July i just need to start getting consistant results.

Thanx for your reply

oppox
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by oppox » Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:26 am