AI-artificial intelligence

Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Medicine. Anything human!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

kabuto
Coral
Coral

AI-artificial intelligence

Post by kabuto » Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:16 am

do u think that one day artificial intelligence can surpass our own?
:?: :?:

pdavis68
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by pdavis68 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:22 pm

As a software engineer, I'll chime in on this one: Absolutely. Not a doubt in my mind.

It's largely an issue of computational power. There have already been developments in software that "evolves" on its own. Basically it uses ideas similar to DNA evolution (crossovers, mutations, etc) to create programs that are more efficient. Some of the programs don't work and die off, other's spawn. This, combined with advances in AI techniques (Neural Nets, Genetic Algorithms, etc) will, I believe, eventually lead to an intelligent system.

I suspect it will work as follows: A basic system will be designed, modeled on the human mind. It will be given "sensory input", methods of communication, and a basic neural structure (virtual, in the program, not a real neural structure). A biologic-style evolution system will cause it to adapt and evolve. Once the system begins, it will adapt and evolve until it starts to show signs of intelligence. The limiting factor will largely be computational power and memory. I suspect it's "doable" now, to some degree, but the computational speed would make it take hundreds of thousands of years to evolve intelligence.

It probably won't happen in my lifetime, but I have little doubt it WILL happen.

AstusAleator
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by AstusAleator » Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:19 pm

could you please post a link to the program that is evolving ai? This is a particular fascination of mine. In fact i wanted to be the first one to do it, and I'm pissed it's already being done :D. But then again i'm not a software engineer so... go figure.

pdavis68
Death Adder
Death Adder