lungs

Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Medicine. Anything human!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
scottyiu
Coral
Coral
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:11 pm
Location: HK

lungs

Post by scottyiu » Fri Apr 14, 2006 2:12 pm

is it true that most people only use a part of their lungs? If so, why? And how do you enable the person to use all his/her lungs?
This forum is so cool

sdekivit
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: holland
Contact:

Post by sdekivit » Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:05 pm

everybody does it, because de bloodvessels in the top of the lung are compressed by the lung tissue due to gravity. That's why the top of the lung under normal conditions is not used.

User avatar
victor
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 2668
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:01 pm
Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia..
Contact:

Post by victor » Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:05 am

are lung's lobes affect the rate of oxygen intake in each lung??
Q: Why are chemists great for solving problems?
A: They have all the solutions.

sdekivit
King Cobra
King Cobra
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: holland
Contact:

Post by sdekivit » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:36 pm

when you breath in air, the pressure in the alveoli rises initially. But because little blood is pumped into the top arterioles of the lung the alveolar pressure is higher then that of the arteriole and venule, and thus vasoconstriction appears. This results in no oxygen uptake in the top of the lung.

baikuza
Coral
Coral
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Yogyakarta, indonesia, south-east asia
Contact:

Post by baikuza » Sun Apr 16, 2006 8:36 am

sdekivit wrote:everybody does it, because de bloodvessels in the top of the lung are compressed by the lung tissue due to gravity. That's why the top of the lung under normal conditions is not used.

actually, because the broncheolus is not used for it. the layer is too thick.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests