THEORY OF EVOLUTION

Discussion of everything related to the Theory of Evolution.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

param
Garter
Garter

THEORY OF EVOLUTION

Post by param » Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 am

How does the "THEORY OF EVOLUTION" is supported through classification of animals and plants..........
Your help too answer this question will be very appreciated..............

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:51 pm

Plants and animals higher up the chain have superior characteristics than those lower on the evolution chain. For example, a frog's heart has 3 chambers, while a bird's heart has 4. A bird has steady methabolism, while a reptile does not
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

biostudent84
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by biostudent84 » Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:58 pm

I wouldn't say it makes them "superior." A bird's heart has four chambers because it needs four chambers. An amphibian can survive with three, so it only creates three.

James
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by James » Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:33 pm

We classify organisms into categories that have similar characteristics, eg mammals, reptiles etc. These cateogories have formed from divergence from common ancestors. Thus, those organisms classified more closely together have diverged less from each other through natural selection, and are closer related.

Linaeus
Garter
Garter

Post by Linaeus » Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:00 pm

I dont get the question? :?

reallyuniquename
Garter
Garter

Post by reallyuniquename » Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:04 pm