i dont understand chemiosynthesis. help?

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

csin
Garter
Garter

i dont understand chemiosynthesis. help?

Post by csin » Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:47 am

hi i am new to this forum and im studying for a cellular respiration exam. so far i understand everything except for chemiosmosis. my textbook doesnt really talk about it, except for that hydrogen and its electrons are taken by NAD and FAD in glycolosis, transition and the kreb cycle and how the NAD and FAD gives up the hydrogen and electrons to cytochrome enzymes and the cytochrome enzymes gives the H and E- to oxygen, the final acceptor, from there i am stuck. can anyone help to explain chemiosmosis? ive tried searing the forums other websites.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:12 pm

Chemiosmosis reffers to storing energy under the form of a proton gradient. I will only explain the mechanism, and it is then up to you to look at the details in a book or online.
In glicolisys and the krebs cycle only 6 molecules of ATP are produced, by sustrate-level phosphorilation. The main energy is taken over under the form of energised electrons by these electron acceptors: NAD+ and FAD.
In the process called oxidative phosphorilation, the synthesis of ATP is done on the expense of the energy stored in these molecules.