Punnet Suaqres Im struggling can somebody please help?

Genetics as it applies to evolution, molecular biology, and medical aspects.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

koqie
Garter
Garter

Punnet Suaqres Im struggling can somebody please help?

Post by koqie » Sun Mar 12, 2006 8:15 pm

http://www.biologycorner.com/worksheets ... s_bio2.htm

Can somebody please go out of their way and help me on the worksheet on this site. This is an assignment I took home and Im really stumped. Im so aggrivated because im an excellent biology student but once we hit genetics my understanding just took a flop. It would be great if someone could guide me or maybe show me an example, on how this work sheet should be handled. I am really embarrased by asking but i hope someone will have the understanding to help a struggling biology student.

Thank you for your time.....

Poison
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by Poison » Sun Mar 12, 2006 8:59 pm

This is not a homework answering forum. Try to do it yourself and ask the points that are not clear.

PS: please do not double post.
It matters not how strait the gate
How charged with punishment the scroll
I am the Master of my fate
I am the Captain of my soul.

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:42 pm

Ok. The answer are rather obvious. On top of the page you have the correspondance between genotypes (GG, Gg etc..) and phenotypes (gray hair, white hair etc).

So for 1 you just look at each trait and make the translation.

For 2 and 3 in each square you make the produce of the crossing of the gametes which corresponds to this cells. ie: GbxGb=GGbb, and you translate that in phenotype, and you count how many cells you have for each phenotype that will give you the frequency of each phenotype (here: n/16)