Southern Blot/ How do you clean hybridization tubes

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

suntoucher
Garter
Garter

Southern Blot/ How do you clean hybridization tubes

Post by suntoucher » Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:35 pm

I have never used southern before. People showed me how to hybridize membrane with 32P labeled probe in the sealed bag but it looks VERY MESSY. Especially when you're trying to remove bubbles from hybridization solution which is in the bag and radioactive probe is already there so that is going outside on your gloves... It's so inconvenient and unsafety even it's has been done in the hood...

Likely we got Hybridization Incubator and it has rottator or "rottisier" with 2 kind of tubes for rotation. There's my q-n: how do you do "rotation method" for hybridization? Do you put membrane and hybridization solution w/32P-labeled probe inside that original tube? How do you clean a tube after that?

I tried to put Corning 50 ml tube into the tube from Incubator but it doesn't fit. :roll:

Thanks in advance.

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Re: Southern Blot/ How do you clean hybridization tubes

Post by canalon » Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:16 pm

suntoucher wrote:I
Likely we got Hybridization Incubator and it has rottator or "rottisier" with 2 kind of tubes for rotation. There's my q-n: how do you do "rotation method" for hybridization? Do you put membrane and hybridization solution w/32P-labeled probe inside that original tube? How do you clean a tube after that?