How would I do this experiment? [Advanced]

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

fstevens
Garter
Garter

How would I do this experiment? [Advanced]

Post by fstevens » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:10 pm

This a question about how to do a experiment. I am a beginner so how to do each procedure would be very helpful!
Things to know: my microscope is up to 2000x. I am a beginner biologist so please do not speak in very technical terms.

My experiment: Testing Kefir (a friendly 'probiotic' bacteria drink) vs. Escherichia coli (bought from Carolina Scientific- Living, K-12 Strain, Tube) I want to test how well Kefir can kill off Escherichia coli (or vice versa). What I want is to introduce around the same amount of E coli cells to the same amount of probiotic cells. I am going to test different store-bought brands and home made Kefir. Is there some way to count the bacteria and measure the exact amount? Can I do this only with a 2000x microscope? It would be very helpful to get full instructions how to do this, and I would learn a lot. Here is one more simple overview of my experiment:

-I want to find out which type of kefir is best against Escherichia coli.
-I am buying the e-coli from http://www.carolina.com/bacteria/escher ... /155068.pr if this is a bad place to buy it, let me know.

thank you for contributing to this amazing community!

Hrushikesh
Garter
Garter

Re: How would I do this experiment? [Advanced]

Post by Hrushikesh » Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:00 pm

Have you planned how shall you count E. coli cells and Kefir cells and distinguish between them?
If you use turbidity as a measure of concentration of bacteria, it may not distinguish between those two, moreover you may get noise due to killed/dead cells in the readings.