HOMESTASIS

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

de_illest
Garter
Garter

HOMESTASIS

Post by de_illest » Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:58 pm

HOW IS HOMEOSTATIS MAINTAINED AFTER CAFFEINE IS INGESTED???? ANYONE HELP PLZZZZZZZ AND THANK YOU!

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sat Dec 24, 2005 6:33 pm

Caffeine, our good friend C8H10N4O2 exercits a lot of nasty effects at a cellular level in nervos, muscular, cardiovascular systems(but not only). Fortunately, after a while, the liver breaks it down and it is excreted as ordinary cellular wastes
PS: I am not entirely sure about this since it is from a book that i have found to be wrong before. However, this particular explanation seems logic and simple
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

victor
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by victor » Sun Dec 25, 2005 11:32 am

Caffeine..known as 1,3,5-trimethylxanthine (IUPAC's name is confusing right?) rumored will give bad effect only if you consume it too much...
the same thing also happen to alcohol. it's been written in the medicine journals that consuming alcohol will reduce the possibility of heartattack IF you consume it not too much...
I can think that our livers have done much more complex processes to result that things above..
Q: Why are chemists great for solving problems?
A: They have all the solutions.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:49 pm