Woolly Mammoth Resurected?

Animals!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Invader Zim
Garter
Garter

Woolly Mammoth Resurected?

Post by Invader Zim » Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:30 pm

I have heard on the news recently that scientists are going to be able to produce a real woolly mammoth. I think that this would not be possible because I cannot think how they would acheive this. Could someone please tell me how they propose to carry this out and if you think that it is actually true :?:

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:04 pm

Well if it was on the news it is true. If they can truly do it i don't know. Many movies show mammoths frozen and brought back to life, but i don't know if it possible just yet..
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:35 pm

No what they have is the genome of the beast, now from the genome to the cloning there are a few steps that I am not sure science has already gone...

And with the global warming why resurect wooly mammoth anyway? ;)
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

Invader Zim
Garter
Garter

Post by Invader Zim » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:49 pm

I know it really is quite silly, could they not be doing helpful things such as stopping pandas, tigers and gorillas from becoming extinct?
But anyway, it was on the news so they must be attempting to do it...

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:08 pm