Help on Teaching Biology!

Debate and discussion of any biological questions not pertaining to a particular topic.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

April1977
Garter
Garter

Help on Teaching Biology!

Post by April1977 » Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:13 pm

I'm a college teacher in Germany. I teach Biology in English to German students. It is extremely difficult finding material in English here in Germany. I hope someone can help me and give me some tips where I can order material in English (worksheet, textbooks, etc) and especially recommend some.
I am desperately looking for material on enzymes, but also other fields such as ecology, genetics, evolution, metabolism.
Thanks in advance.

Mjhavok
Coral
Coral

Post by Mjhavok » Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:43 am

I think you can buy textbooks from Amazon.co.uk and they will be imported.
Forgive him, for he believes that the customs of his tribe are the laws of nature!

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Tue Dec 20, 2005 8:24 pm

Well, you can generally find many things on the internet. For example, you will find the book "Mollecular biology of the cell" free on pubmed. Check the link in the PDF and DOC files section. Pubmed also has a lot of books on many things... You should check them out. But you will find online books in other places like
http://www.emc.maricopa.edu/faculty/far ... okTOC.html
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/quer ... ol=toolbar
http://www.textbookofbacteriology.net/
http://www.bartleby.com/107/
http://users.rcn.com/jkimball.ma.ultran ... T/TOC.html
http://books.nap.edu/category.html?id=bi

Of course you can buy some books online from Amazon, but you need to pay money for those
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

Crissie
Garter
Garter

Post by Crissie » Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:03 pm