Itinerary towards cancer research for Math graduate?

Debate and discussion of any biological questions not pertaining to a particular topic.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

rebpalma
Garter
Garter

Itinerary towards cancer research for Math graduate?

Post by rebpalma » Fri Dec 13, 2013 8:08 am

Hi, I'm a Math graduate working full-time in a non-Biology-related field. I have plenty of experience with SQL querying, some experience with predictive modelling, and little programming background, although I'm learning Python right now, and I want to start learning R-programming in January.
I've been trying to help in cancer research and/or genetics research for several years now in more sophisticate ways than CellSlider or Phylo (citizen science projects). Unfortunately I don't have enough time to study Biology at a brick-and-mortar university (and the lectures are scheduled during my working hours), and in my country (Spain) that's the only way to study Biology.
The closest degree to Biology I can obtain at a distance official university is Chemistry.
I have done plenty of Coursera and Khan Academy Biology and Chemistry courses and I'm learning a lot but once I finish each course I can do nothing more (Biology-related) and I'm back to square one.
I spend hours each day reading genetics and cancer-related scientific texts but at some point I would like to do more than reading! I want to help!
I have contacted several research institutions in my city but they have rejected me for three reasons mainly: (a) my not being able to work with them full-time, (b) not being able to accomodate a non-remunerated volunteer into their structure due to bureaucratic reasons, and (c) my lack of life-science background.