Cell membrane and cell wall

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

scottyiu
Coral
Coral

Cell membrane and cell wall

Post by scottyiu » Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:40 pm

Some stuff can go through the cell membrane like glocose. But can anything go throught the cell wall? (without breaking it)
This forum is so cool

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:29 pm

Of course it can. If it couldn't than the plant cell would be impermeable to everything, wouldn't it? It has pores. I am sorry but i can't translate their names...
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

Poison
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by Poison » Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:06 pm

Actually, generally cell wall is more permeable than cell membrane.
It matters not how strait the gate
How charged with punishment the scroll
I am the Master of my fate
I am the Captain of my soul.

Fried Zygote Sandwich
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by Fried Zygote Sandwich » Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:07 am

Of course plant cell walls must be porous...

Two names for these that come to mind are plasmodesmata and aquaporins. Correct me if I'm wrong anyone.

Just one more thing though. Glucose isn't permeable to the lipid bilyaer... It requires a transport protein.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:41 pm

Two names for these that come to mind are plasmodesmata and aquaporins. Correct me if I'm wrong anyone.

You are not worng but you missed what i was reffering to. Plasmodesmes connect cells between each other. Aquaporins are water channels in the cell membrane, have nothing to do with what we are discussing... What i was reffering to are the holes in the cell wall...