I need notes

Genetics as it applies to evolution, molecular biology, and medical aspects.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

cool A-level student
Death Adder
Death Adder

I need notes

Post by cool A-level student » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:44 am

How do we know what we know?
-Gregor Mendel
-Rosalind Franklin
-Sanger
-Watson and Crick (double helix)
-Beadle and Tatum
-DNA profiling and fingerprinting

who? when? science? context?

cool A-level student
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by cool A-level student » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:56 am

got it all now
if any1 needs these notes say and ill post em later on

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:54 pm

Who are those guys? Rosalind Franklin, Beadle and Tatum, Sanger ... Never heard of them. Heared something about that Mendel dude...
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:02 pm

-Rosalind Franklin goes with watson and crick since she was working in the imperial college team that took the X-ray diffraction images that allowed Watson and Crick to devise their structure.

-Sanger, he has 2 nobel prizes (chemistry and Physiology medicine) he came up with the protein and nucleid acid sequencing (dideoxy, the one still used now with improvement in sequencers) methods

-Beadle and Tatum, I found this

-DNA profiling and fingerprinting, doing that all day on bacteria How boring!
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

Terry K.
Death Adder
Death Adder

Post by Terry K. » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:54 pm