Kingdom Plante


Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
Sinead Ryan
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 3:30 pm
Location: The Green Isle of Ireland!!

Kingdom Plante

Post by Sinead Ryan » Mon Feb 28, 2005 3:09 pm

In this kingdom mosses come under the heading of bryophytes ans fowers are angiosperms etc could any one tell me the equivelent group name for ferns??? Also are these term bryophytes, angiosperms etc... phyla or just classes with in a phyla??

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 2:05 am


Post by jonofbridger » Thu Mar 03, 2005 2:18 am

I think that ferns are classified as Pteridophytes. Also I am not sure what the term "bryophyte" would be called exactly, butI believe the group contains the phyla Bryophyta, Anthocerophyta, and Hepatophyta, so I don't think you can call "bryophyte" a phylum.

Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:52 pm

Post by pedro21101 » Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:33 pm

Hello, I dont know what system your country use, but Bryophyta is the phylum in which three classes belongs: Hepaticopsida, Anthoceratopsida and Muscopsida. And other phyla of the subkingdom Cormobionta (of the kinkdom Vegetabilia (platae)) are Rhyniophyta (extinct), Psilotophyta (extinct), Lycopodiophyta (club mosses), Equisetophyta (horsetails), Polypodiophyta (ferns), which are all plants whose reproduction undergoes through spores, others phyla are Liginodendrophyta (seed ferns), Cycadophyta, Cordaitophyta, Pinophyta (conifers) and Gnetophyta which are all spermatophytes but gymnospermae, and last phylum is Magnoliophyta (flowering plants) which are Spermatophytes, Angiospermae. Spermatophytes means seed plants. OK? So suggestion that bryophytes are angiospermatophytes is something really frightful. I hope this will help you.[/b]

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:03 am

Post by sumita » Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:48 am

Yes, Mosses come under the division Bryophytes.Bryophytes come under Sub-kingdom Cryptogamia (non-flowering plants) and they are non-vascular plants and have rhizoids instead of roots.
Ferns come under the division Pteridophyta.
Plant Kingdom is divided into Cryptogamia(non-flowering plants) and Phanerogamia(flowering plants).
Again,Cryptogamia(non-flowering plants)is divided into Thallophyta,Bryophyta and Pteridophyta.
Phanerogamia(flowering plants)is divided into Gymnosperms and Angiosperms.
I think you got it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests