paramecium excretory system and its environment

About microscopic forms of life, including Bacteria, Archea, protozoans, algae and fungi. Topics relating to viruses, viroids and prions also belong here.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

deathbybiology
Garter
Garter

paramecium excretory system and its environment

Post by deathbybiology » Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:05 pm

wat are the system to its environment.
ive looked on line but all i find is nothing usefull.dead links or just crappy information i dont need.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sun Nov 13, 2005 6:30 pm

Could you make your question a bit more clear? I don't understand it...
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

deathbybiology
Garter
Garter

Post by deathbybiology » Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:18 pm

what is the function and the function of the parts of the excretory system in the paramecium. like a detailed description or a site with it.

Ken Ramos
Viper
Viper

Post by Ken Ramos » Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:12 am

Cellular wastes may be discharged at various points along the cell membrane of the paramecium at random. However, Jahns "how to know the Protozoa," makes reference to an anal spot, of which there is no clear discription, pg. 236 Phylum Ciliophora.

Contractile vacuoles, which is now considered to be an errounous term that has been replaced by "water expelling vesicles or wev," regulates the amount of water within the cell structure. Along with excess water, some wastes are excreted or expelled here also.