gram negative staining

About microscopic forms of life, including Bacteria, Archea, protozoans, algae and fungi. Topics relating to viruses, viroids and prions also belong here.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

student001
Garter
Garter

gram negative staining

Post by student001 » Sun Oct 30, 2005 5:46 pm

can someone tell us what gram negative staining means i think's it's something to do with stain colour of object can anyone ofter some help. :?:

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:02 pm

Google from gram stain you will find all you need. By the result of the gram staining process, your bacteria can be gram negative or gram positive...
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

senkhisis
Garter
Garter

Post by senkhisis » Sun Oct 30, 2005 7:58 pm

There are also bacteria which will sometimes retain the blue coloring and sometimes not. These are the gram variable bacteria.

hurly
Coral
Coral

Post by hurly » Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:59 am

It's because of the different kinds of bacteria cellwalls.

munkeyzrox28
Garter
Garter

i only rmember little....maybe this will help some...

Post by munkeyzrox28 » Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:00 am

i know that a gram neg. stain turns the....uumm....thing?...... purple. i'm pretty sure its that... :roll: i dont remeber alot...cuz...i really hate Bio...i have a C in there so yeah...hope that helps some. probably not. but its better than nuthin.

Sam :wink:

raju
Garter
Garter

Post by raju » Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:18 am

its a way by which a bacteria can be classified