Immobilising glucose isomerase

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
sophie
Garter
Garter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:16 am

Immobilising glucose isomerase

Post by sophie » Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:25 am

I know that in the conversion of glucose into fructose they use immobilised glucose isomerase. Could anyone please tell me why they use the enzyme immobilised rather than in free solution? Any help would be much appreciated!!!!!!!! :) , Thanx!

User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Post by canalon » Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:12 pm

I am not sure, but my first reaction would be: if your enzyme is immobilised first you do not have to remove it from the final product, and second, you can just wash the support with the good solution and reuse it for the next batch of glucose solution, instead of mixing a new solution in every time. Or in one word: cheaper.

My 2 cents

Patrick

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 0 guests