Animals!

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

punk rock princess
Garter
Garter

Sharks and Dolphins

Post by punk rock princess » Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:32 pm

Hi guys!

Why do sharks and dolphins look so similar, even though one is a fish and the other is a mammal?

:?
A guy walks into a pub, and asks for a pint of Adenosinetriphosphate.

The barman says "That'll be 80p (ATP) please!"

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:30 pm

Converging evolution
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

punk rock princess
Garter
Garter

Post by punk rock princess » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:39 pm

Thanks for the hint. I've just looked up 'Converging Evolution'. Am I right in thinking that the reason why they look similar is that they share a common environment, and this is the most useful shape for that environment?

Would monkeys and humans be another example of converging evolution?

:P

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:35 pm

Yes for the shape. Same environmental factors lead to similar shapes.
No for the monkey/ human analogy because humans evolved from monkeys, they did not evolve independently. This is the kind of learning we encourage, where you do the work, we just guide you. Well done!
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

punk rock princess
Garter
Garter

Post by punk rock princess » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:13 pm

Thanks for the guidance!

:D :D :D

Would alligators and crocodiles be another example of convergent evolution?

pedro21101
Garter
Garter

Post by pedro21101 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:31 pm