Plasmid mini prep

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
testsubjectzz
Garter
Garter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:24 am

Plasmid mini prep

Post by testsubjectzz » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:35 am

So I did a plasmid mini prep and you forgot to use RNAse would it be suitable for cloning, i'm guessing not but hoping yes.

I will be running a gel tomorrow to check it and i'm pretty sure i'll need to repeat it :?

Right now it's in -20 dissolved in distilled water or something could I possibly centrifuge that take out the water and re dissolve it in a buffer with RNAse?

Thanks

User avatar
JackBean
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
Posts: 5694
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:12 pm

Post by JackBean » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:02 pm

I have never used RNase when isolating DNA and it was always fine. The DNA is more stable than RNA and there are everywhere plenty of RNases, so I wouldn't worry...
http://www.biolib.cz/en/main/

Cis or trans? That's what matters.

Jillo725
Garter
Garter
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Evans, GA

Post by Jillo725 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:32 pm

I wouldn't change the protocol. but what you could do is google protocol for mini preps and see if anyone else made the same mistake and has an answer for you.
"There is no adequate defense, except stupidity, against the impact of a new idea."
— Percy Williams Bridgman, US physicist

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests