Biology Lab Help - Protein Assays

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Zabulius
Garter
Garter

Biology Lab Help - Protein Assays

Post by Zabulius » Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:08 pm

Finished all parts of my lab and report except this final question. I'm not quite sure I fully understand the concept of why it happens.

Most proteins have an absorption maximum at 280 nm. If that is so, why do you assess the absorbance in the Bradford assay with the wavelength set at 595 nm? (2 reasons)

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:56 am

do you know how a bradford assay works?
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

Zabulius
Garter
Garter

Re: Biology Lab Help - Protein Assays

Post by Zabulius » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:20 am

Yes, atleast I believe so. It involves the dye Coomassie Blue. The dye binds to both basic and aromatic amino acids when reacted with a protein sample. I also know the absorbance of the dye shifts when mixed with a protein sample but other than that I can't say much.

JackBean
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by JackBean » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:40 am

The one and only reason is, that the complex protein-Coomassie has maximum at that wavelength
http://www.biolib.cz/en/main/

Cis or trans? That's what matters.

clevermizo
Garter
Garter

Re: Biology Lab Help - Protein Assays

Post by clevermizo » Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:37 pm

Zabulius wrote:Finished all parts of my lab and report except this final question. I'm not quite sure I fully understand the concept of why it happens.

Most proteins have an absorption maximum at 280 nm. If that is so, why do you assess the absorbance in the Bradford assay with the wavelength set at 595 nm? (2 reasons)