suggest a book

Discuss topics related to other sciences, post news that you feel our community needs to hear about. Any interesting discussions about pretty much anything are also welcome.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

suggest a book

Post by MrMistery » Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:22 pm

Hey Guys,

I recently won an award from my college that consists of the following thing: I get to pick a book at the college library and they will engrave it with the university seal for me. this is kind of a cool thing, so I wanna pick a good book. Does anyone have any suggestions of what to choose? I want it to be something important for science in general, and so far the only thing I could come up with was "On the Origin of species", but that is kind of old..
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

kolean
Coral
Coral

Post by kolean » Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:15 pm

Does it have to be a book in the college library already? Or are they going to get a new book FOR the college library? Confusion on my part. . . . per as usual.

I would pick a book that was helpful in your pursuit of learning. One that you learned something new and exciting, or one that gave you a good foundation in your scientific passion endeavors. Something that will make you smile when you see it in a few years down the road: sentimental reasons.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:47 pm

I am sorry, i misspoke. I need to pick a book from the college Bookstore, which will be mine to keep afterwards.

The problem with picking something important for my childhood is that all those kinds of books were bought home (Romania), they don't have them in the Harvard bookstore :)