why does taq add an "A"

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
theendperson
Garter
Garter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:39 am

why does taq add an "A"

Post by theendperson » Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:43 am

Hiya I wanted to know why taq polymerase add an A to the end of a transcript

Thanks in advance

Tom

plasmodesmata11
Coral
Coral
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:51 am
Location: University of Rhode Island

Post by plasmodesmata11 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:15 am

is that something to do with a poly adenyl tail?

theendperson
Garter
Garter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:39 am

Re: why does taq add an "A"

Post by theendperson » Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:27 am

dont think so, as far as I can tell it only adds 1 A

User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Post by canalon » Mon Mar 30, 2009 3:43 pm

I don't know why. But it is very convenient for TA cloning. And it seems to be a unique chareacteristic of the Taq polymerase, others like Pfu do not do that. I have never seen any explanation for the why.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

User avatar
MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: Romania(small and unimportant country)
Contact:

Post by MrMistery » Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:34 am

I really doubt it actually has a role, honestly. I think it's much more probable that it's simply a result of drift in evolution... But this is just my opinion
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests