What the cell am I doing here?

Plants!

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

clubsandwedge
Garter
Garter

What the cell am I doing here?

Post by clubsandwedge » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:14 am

Hello there, (No, I'm not here to promote my drugs like those spambots, this is just a friendly introduction with a couple of questions)

I'm a student of 16 and as of recent have uncovered a great deal of passion for Biology in general, particularly the taxonomic aspects of it.
Being absolutely clueless as to what I should or want to dedicate my life to, I figure I should go to college, earn an undergrad degree in Botany, and a masters. After earning a masters degree, a great deal of science courses will recognize you as a 'graduate', and your high-school education or 'diploma' (The information in sub-parenthesis is not really important :lol: [In Ireland, it is a points system of 0 - 600 based on assessment of end-of-course tests on six subjects. Thus, each subject having a potential 100 points]) is not as important anymore.
This then leaves me open to another large area of education, and 'undergraduate courses'. The prospect of this fills me with joy.

My first question is: Do you think this is a good idea?

Now,

Can anybody recommend a way of getting into botany with a hands on approach (Plant-cultivation, journals, comparisons of species) ? For some reason, after reading 40 pages into the origin of species (I'm a slow reader) I was more captivated by the work of a naturalist like Darwin, than his actual discoveries (I have a basic, um, grounding).

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:46 pm

Buy a college-level intro botany book and start reading it. There really is no way to determine if you really like something other than actually doing it.