Question regarding Restriction Enzymes

Genetics as it applies to evolution, molecular biology, and medical aspects.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Methtical
Garter
Garter

Question regarding Restriction Enzymes

Post by Methtical » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:01 pm

Hello everybody,

I am currently studying for a Masters degree, its been a few years since I was in education, and genetics was never my strong subject anyway. As such, im rather rusty on the concepts of restriction enzymes. I have an exam coming up in a couple of weeks and expect this topic to come up, so have been researching around these and attempting to answer some questions from past exam papers.

One of the questions presented is shown below:

A restriction fragment produced by Bgl II cleavage of Wulfruna wanderensis DNA
is cloned into the Bam HI site in pATHB1. When attempting to recover this
important piece of DNA from the plasmid why is it neither Bam H1 nor Bgl II will
cleave this insert from the plasmid? Explain your answer diagrammatically.

Enzyme Recognition site
Bam HI G/GATCC
Bgl II A/GATCT

I find this question very confusing, but will decribe some thoughts on it. If the fragment was cloned into the BAm HI site, then surely the using Bam HI should liberate the DNA from the plasmid - unless the insertion of the fragment distrupted the recognition site for Bam HI, therefore meaning the enzyme no longer recognized the site in which the fragment is located.
But even before that, I consider how did they insert the fragment, produced by Bgl II cleavage into the Bam HI site in the first place - I was under the impression that both the desired DNA and the plasmid had to be treated with the same enzyme to produce complementary 'sticky ends' to make insertion possible.