Which biological topics are most important?

Debate and discussion of any biological questions not pertaining to a particular topic.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

GAG CAT UUG
Garter
Garter

Which biological topics are most important?

Post by GAG CAT UUG » Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:17 pm

I’m a high school biology teacher with state standard expectations to cover every known topic in biology in a single school year. As a biology major, I understand and appreciate all biological concepts and wish I had more time to spend thoroughly teaching each. However…

So which topics would you put greater emphasis on and spend a little extra time teaching because you feel that high school students lack knowledge in that area as they prepare for college, and more important - life?

Please rank the following in order of importance:

A) Cell Structure and Function
B) Biochemistry
C) Photosynthesis/Cellular Respiration
D) Cellular Reproduction
E) Genetics
F) Evolution
H) Classification
I) Ecology
J) Human Anatomy

Thanks

Darby
Viper
Viper

Post by Darby » Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:51 am

Evolution and genetics for general knowledge.

Biochemistry and cell stuff for the science-track people.

blcr11
Viper
Viper

Re: Which biological topics are most important?

Post by blcr11 » Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:40 pm