Homologous chromosomes during meiosis

Genetics as it applies to evolution, molecular biology, and medical aspects.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

hplc
Garter
Garter

Homologous chromosomes during meiosis

Post by hplc » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:17 pm

Hello.

I'm a first year biology student, and I'm currently reading a text-book on genetics and evolution. But there is a part about the meiosis I don't understand. According to the book, two sets of homologous chromosomes are inherited from each parent. But I can't understand how two random individuals of a given species have homologous chromosomes. Does all individuals in a given species have the same structural features in their genes? Or are the chromosomes made homologous during the meiosis process? I can't understand this.

Hope you can help me out! Thanks.

blcr11
Viper
Viper

Post by blcr11 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:22 pm