Biochemistry help?

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

NewtoBiology
Garter
Garter

Biochemistry help?

Post by NewtoBiology » Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:59 am

Hello Biologists

I am just studying exergonic and endergonic processes (WHICH FRIGHTFULLY sounds like chemistry!!!) butI am wondering if anyone can help verify if my rational is correct.

Glycolysis: the breakdown of glucose is an exergonic process.
Lactic Acid Fermentation: endergonic process due to encorporation of ATP and NADH
Cyclic electron Flow:exergonic
Calvin Cycle: endergonic process

Am I correct on my assumptions of the above biochemical processes?

Thank you so much

new to biology and EEekkk sometimes chemistry...

Imammstcnerd
Garter
Garter

Re: Biochemistry help?

Post by Imammstcnerd » Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:15 pm

Lactic acid fermentation makes energy just not as effiently as Krebs cycle. fermentation happens when there is not oxygen. such as when exercising. the build up of acid from fermentation is what causes the "burn"

victor
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by victor » Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:51 am

Yup, you can see whether the process is exergonic or endergonic by calculating the free Gibbs energy. If the calculation yields a negative result, th the process is exergonic and vice versa.
As far as I know that lactic acid fermentation is a quite exergonic process with a slightly negative free Gibbs energy. So, this can be seen as an equilibrium process ( which catalyzed by lactate dehydrogenase) between pyruvate and lactate because zero Gibbs energy means an equilibrium process.