PCR

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Post Reply
shivakumar
Garter
Garter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:51 am

PCR

Post by shivakumar » Wed May 14, 2008 11:18 am

hi everybody
In order to study the role of some genes, I have designed gene specific primers and made a PCR. And I separated the amplified products in agarose gel and got bands. Surprisingly I got the same bands with the PCR product which was done without using cDNA template(which was for the confirmation of amplification). Can anybody answer me, how will get band even without template.

User avatar
canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan
Posts: 3909
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Canada

Post by canalon » Wed May 14, 2008 1:10 pm

the first answer tha comes to mind is: contamination.
Now the proble is with what and how. This implies using new unopened reagents (or old reagents that cannot have been contaminated), decontaminating pipettes and/or using filter tips and rethinking you good lab practice to see how you have meade the contamination possible so as to avoid it next time.
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests