Contaminations in tissue culture

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

jojo90
Garter
Garter

Contaminations in tissue culture

Post by jojo90 » Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:13 am

What are possible sources of contamination
in tissue culture work?

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:52 am

bacteria, if you don't work sterile.
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:03 pm

bacteria and fungi. Good sterile technique is necessary (and a laminar flow 'hood helps keep the bad guys away... sorry for the lame joke).
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:29 pm

and an broad spectrum antibiotic in the growth medium is not bad in addition to your sterile technique. Just in case you're clumsy one day :D
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

biohazard
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by biohazard » Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:35 am

Some people advise to avoid antibiotics, since they render cultures susceptible to so called cryptic contaminants (e.g. mycoplasmas), that have some degree of resistance to these antibiotics and thus are able to slowly grow in tissue/cell culture without causing any visible effects. So basically your culture can be badly contaminated without you having any clue, save from some dodgy research results you may get.