Need help and opinions ASAP.

Debate and discussion of any biological questions not pertaining to a particular topic.

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

moe20
Garter
Garter

Need help and opinions ASAP.

Post by moe20 » Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:09 am

hi, im a third year biology student and i need ur opinion on a question that my professor gave me for my presentation...the question is as follows: """Design a set of experiments to verify the following statement: Rap2, not Rap1, is critically needed for the adehsion of smooth muscle cells to fibronectin."""

now this statement may not be scientifically valid and the experiments may not be true too, also the compounds that are used may not be real either....the purose of this question is to test the ability to design experiments...

so any suggestions and opinions to prove the validity of this statement???

I appreciate ur help!

moe20
Garter
Garter

Re: Need help and opinions ASAP.

Post by moe20 » Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:12 am

OH ONE MORE THING: THE EXPERIMENTS ARE JUST [u]HYPOTHETICAL[u], NO EXPERIMENTS MUST BE DONE IN LABRATORY.
Last edited by moe20 on Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

mith
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by mith » Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:24 pm

Well obviously you can silence rap1/rap2 either thru homozygous knockout mutants or RNAi. Then it's just a problem of cause and effect isn't it?
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
~Niebuhr

moe20
Garter
Garter

Post by moe20 » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:59 am

mith wrote:Well obviously you can silence rap1/rap2 either thru homozygous knockout mutants or RNAi. Then it's just a problem of cause and effect isn't it?