protein interaction

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

houlinlin
Garter
Garter

protein interaction

Post by houlinlin » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:50 am

HELP! :?:
Does anyone know the methods which can detect the interaction between proteins the most accurately?

mith
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by mith » Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:22 am

Yeast 2 hybrid?
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
~Niebuhr

s3u6e1
Garter
Garter

Post by s3u6e1 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:56 pm

CO-IP?

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:21 pm

haven't done either of them, but i think co-immunoprecipitation is easier to do. Less places where you can screw up the protocol.
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

s3u6e1
Garter
Garter

Post by s3u6e1 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:32 am

I have tried the 2-hybrid before, it was not too complicated in fact. but at last I didn't get the result I was expecting for. maybe it was because my proteins are secreted protein, we know for 2-hybrid, the reporter genes can only be motivated when the two proteins of interest banding to the AD and BD separately enter into the nuclear. so maybe the 2-hybrid has some limits I think.

For the Co-IP, we need anti-bodies for the proteins we want to test, which may take some time. in order to avoid producing the anti-bodies, I chose to tag my proteins with different tags (3HA,GST,GFP,Myc...), and so I can use the antibody anti-tags which can be purchased from the bio-companies. but now I have a big problem with taging my protein, I am also looking for the solutions now.

I have a paper concerning of the Co-IP, with a detail protocol.