human bio help needed.

Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Medicine. Anything human!

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

ecsezandohs
Garter
Garter

human bio help needed.

Post by ecsezandohs » Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:39 pm

I am in my first year of human biology and recently got my study guide for the first test. The only problem is I don't know the answers to some of the questions and my Prof. just said to "look in the book." the book doesn't help me at all and I have found most of the answers online. Can anyone help me with the following questions?

1-Describe 4 charateristics of enzymes.

2-Describe the function of enzymes in 4 steps.

3-What types of cells contain the most mitochondria?

4-Compare the products of free-floating ribosomes and ribosomes made in the endoplasmic reticulum.

5-Where are enzymes made?

6-Describe what happens to a protein from the time it is made in a ribosome until it leaves the cell.

7-Most cells have one nucleus. Name two exceptions.

8- Name and describe the two forms DNA takes within the cell.

*any help anyone can provide is greatly appreciated. thanks in advance!!*

Jammerz
Death Adder
Death Adder

Re: human bio help needed.

Post by Jammerz » Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:55 pm

ecsezandohs wrote:1-Describe 4 charateristics of enzymes.
2-Describe the function of enzymes in 4 steps.
3-What types of cells contain the most mitochondria?
4-Compare the products of free-floating ribosomes and ribosomes made in the endoplasmic reticulum.
5-Where are enzymes made?
6-Describe what happens to a protein from the time it is made in a ribosome until it leaves the cell.
7-Most cells have one nucleus. Name two exceptions.
8- Name and describe the two forms DNA takes within the cell.

Some of these questions are a little ambiguous/open ended, but most of them you will find in your textbook or on the internet very easily. I'll offer my opinion on a few and point you in the right direction for others: