Struggling with Vector Cloning Project

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

annakarenina
Garter
Garter

Struggling with Vector Cloning Project

Post by annakarenina » Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:17 pm

Hi,

Im a University student doing a really annoying in silico cloning project (using vector NTI software).

DNA and protein technology isnt really my forte (I'm Rubbish at it!!!!) and I was wondering if someone who knows about these things could tell me if I'm pointed in the right direction.

Ok so I have to:

Design and construct an expression vector based on pGEX-2T
that could be used to express my target protein - FAS2 (arabidopsis thaliana fasciata 2) as a recombinant fusion protein with glutathione S transferase in a bacterial host

Okay now I'm sorry if this is a REALLY stupid question, but my University has pretty much piled this assignment on us without any actual teaching and just the aid of a computer lab manual.

so does this mean that im going to use pGEX-2T as my vector.......and fuse my FAS2 protein with glutathione S transferase. so stick that fusion protein into pGEX-2T - and then stick the entire thing in a bacterial host???

Just want to know if I'm totally lost/a bit dim etc.
Thanks for any help anyone can give me!!!!

Cheers

Anna
I think we ought always to entertain our opinions with some measure of doubt. I shouldn't wish people dogmatically to believe any philosophy, not even mine.
Bertrand Russell

blcr11
Viper
Viper

Post by blcr11 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:17 am

That's about the size of it.