Getting started

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

evointrigued
Garter
Garter

Getting started

Post by evointrigued » Sun Aug 19, 2007 5:29 pm

Hi. I'm learning the very basics of DNA replication and evolution. I'm not very knowledgeable with chemistry either. I apologize, but for me to understand, it will take a little dumbing down. I've tried dictionaries and I'm only learning bits and pieces because it's so technical. Here are several questions I have:

What causes two strands of DNA to split?

Suppose A and T are connected. What is the bond that holds them together?

I think it might be a Hydrogen bond but what exactly is a Hydrogen bond?

Is a Hydrogen bond a variant of an ionic or covalent bond?

What is a peptide bond?

Is it necessary to memorize the Periodic Table of Elements in order to learn?

What is a protein? I seem to understand the basic structure of DNA and the names but I can't understand what protein is. I know it's a macromolecule comprised of amino acids that makes up muscle tissue and finger nails. I just have little bits and pieces but I don't know what it really is.

What's the difference between m-RNA and RNA?

Thanks for any help.

mith
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by mith » Sun Aug 19, 2007 8:47 pm

wikipedia is your friend.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
~Niebuhr

canalon
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by canalon » Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:54 pm

Or our tutorials, on the top right corner of the page...
Patrick

Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without
any proof. (Ashley Montague)

evointrigued
Garter
Garter

Post by evointrigued » Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:58 am

Ahh. I had a Firefox AdBlock filter typo that blocked those navigation icons. I see them now. Thank you. These tutorials are a blessing.