NEED IMMIDIATE HELP WITH RNA EXTRACTION!!

Discussion of all aspects of biological molecules, biochemical processes and laboratory procedures in the field.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

molecular newbie
Garter
Garter

NEED IMMIDIATE HELP WITH RNA EXTRACTION!!

Post by molecular newbie » Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:00 pm

Ive been working in a PATH lab for 2 months now. I have been given the assignment of extracting RNA from Formalin fixed Paraffin tissue. So far I have used the RNAeasy Kit for RNA extraction from FFPE and i have also tried a TRIZOL method. NOTHING IS WORKING!!!! I get 0 bands after RT-PCR with B-actin primer, and i don't even get anything in the BIOanalyzer . Im an undergrad student working in this lab for the summer, and its a pretty prestigious lab. At this point my credibility is going down the crapper.... If someone has a procedure that will help me succeed in Extracting the RNA from this paraffin tissue , i would be most grateful....My lab skills , at least in my opinion are pretty good, it has to be the method. Get back to me ASAP.. THANKS!!!!! :( :oops:

blcr11
Viper
Viper

Post by blcr11 » Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:13 pm