trees that don't flower?

Plants!

Moderators: Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

mattw
Garter
Garter

trees that don't flower?

Post by mattw » Wed May 09, 2007 2:56 pm

My apple trees never flower. Will they eventually? Are there trees grown from seed that never flower their whole lives?

Thanks,
Matt W

Marazul
Garter
Garter

Post by Marazul » Thu May 31, 2007 9:32 pm

Yes, your tree will eventually flower, but it will take a few years (maybe a lot of years). Trees grown from seeds delay much in flowering, that's why the grafts are made. Grafting is a very common practice in agriculture, specially with fruit trees.

Sorry about my english, is not very good, I hope you understood.

MrMistery
Inland Taipan
Inland Taipan

Post by MrMistery » Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:14 pm

and to answer your question: yes there are trees that do not produce flowers - that reproduce entirely by asexual reproduction
"As a biologist, I firmly believe that when you're dead, you're dead. Except for what you live behind in history. That's the only afterlife" - J. Craig Venter

cotinga
Garter
Garter

Post by cotinga » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:55 pm

MrMistery wrote:and to answer your question: yes there are trees that do not produce flowers - that reproduce entirely by asexual reproduction

But that a specific case, right? The normal condition for angiosperms (actually their defining character) is reproducion by flowers...

Linn
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by Linn » Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:29 pm

Apple trees can be difficult. In addition to age, Factors involved are the number of trees you have (the more the merrier),
a full sun location,winter pruning, bud protection, fertilization, and most important: pollination.
Then if you are able to coax a few apples you need to protect them from insects and squirrls etc.