ELISA Hormone Assay

Discussion of all aspects of cellular structure, physiology and communication.

Moderators: honeev, Leonid, amiradm, BioTeam

Dr.Stein
King Cobra
King Cobra

ELISA Hormone Assay

Post by Dr.Stein » Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:23 pm

Hello,

I am new in ELISA hormone assay. I am doing a research about measuring testosterone level in mice treated by some substance. Unfortunately our ELISA reader cannot create automatic result, thus I need to determine it semi-manually according to the OD. I am already created the standard curve using Excel and now I have no idea how to determine the testosterone level of my samples. I know that it can be harvested from extrapolation based on the standard curve but is there any automatical generation? Because if we generate it manually with ruler the result will be not valid because of the logarithmic scale and the X-axis interval (it is 0; 0.2, 0.5, 1, 2, 6, 16). For instance if the extrapolation is somewhere between 6 and 16, it would be hard to say the hormone level, right? Though there is some minor grid, but still can't be precise as it should be.

Thank you for your help!

sdekivit
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by sdekivit » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:57 am

expand your calibration curve with higher testosterone concentrations and/or greater concentration steps. And then interpolate.

Dr.Stein
King Cobra
King Cobra

Post by Dr.Stein » Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:36 am

I DO KNOW that interpolation but it will provide me not exact concentration number because it will show me a point in a certain range. I already applied this and I am not satisfied, also my supervisor demands an exact number from calculatiion not just a result from a ruler.

For instance, I got a point somewhere between the concentration 6 and 16 ng/mL. How can I get the exact number? And also that the semi-log paper doesn't provide minor scale I need to determine number between those 6 - 16 ng/mL.

I am still confused :(